Wk 9 – Art Experience – Graffiti Writing

This week’s art project was to use spray paint to write our name in graffiti-style writing.  It had been quite a while since I had used spray paint, so I was hoping that I would not leave too many blotches or hold the spray in one spot for too long.  Nevertheless, I was actually really excited to do this project!

Before I could start, I had to check if I had any spray paint; when I checked, I found that I only had some car primer, which I decided not to use because I needed it for later.  So I went to Home Depot and bought two cans; I elected to go with black and white because they are classic colors, and I liked the contrast between the two.  When I got back home, I found a cardboard box, broke it down into one flat piece, and set about drawing some practice designs on a piece of paper with pencil.  I ended up using two pieces of paper for my practice drawings because I could not decide between bubble letters or my own style of writing; I also wrote a little larger than I expected, so I could only fit three letters on each piece of paper.  After my practice drawings and deciding to go with my own style, I set about doing some practice runs on smaller pieces of cardboard that I had from packages of water bottles.  It was definitely a good choice to do those practice runs because I did end up painting over lines and miscalculating the size of my letters.  But after a couple of practice runs, I decided to just go for it and do my project.  So I grabbed my designated cardboard piece, put on some music, wrapped a bandana around my face, and got to work.  I was done much faster than I expected; I was also actually pretty pleased with my work.  Overall, I really enjoyed this project and I also really enjoy street art.  I have always had respect for street artists who paint entire murals with spray paint, but this project gave me a more realistic idea of the level of precision and detail it takes to create such artistic pieces.  Personally, I also thought that this was the most relaxing project we have done this semester.  The combination of the sound of the air pressure releasing the paint from the can, the faint smell of the paint through the bandana, the clacking sound of the can as you shake it, the flow of the paint matching the movement of your hand, and loud music blasting the entire time provided me with a euphoric sense of freedom from reality.  This project was a truly blissful experience; I hope to do more pieces with spray paint on my own in the future as a way to relieve some stress and escape from reality, even if it is only for a little while.

Leave a Reply

