Wk 14 – Art Experience – Sketching in the CSULB Japanese Garden

This week’s assignment involved taking a trip to the Japanese Garden on campus, which, to be honest, I had forgot was a part of campus and even existed.  In fact, the last time I had heard anything about the Japanese Garden was during my freshman orientation.  Thus, before I could begin this assignment, I had to look up where the garden was on campus.  After locating it, I moved my truck closer to the garden and went inside.

The garden was absolutely beautiful!  It was much more beautiful and amazing than I could have ever expected!  It evoked a strong sense of calm and peace that helped me relax after a very stressful couple of days; additionally, the weather also helped make the view in the Japanese Garden seem as if it was straight out of a commercial or advertisement.  The beauty of the garden, and the opportunity to hang out with new and old friends made the experience one of the best, if not the best, of the semester.  I was even able to overlook my terrible drawings!  Although my drawing skills are obviously non-existent, I thought that this was a fun experience because of the view that we had the opportunity to try and draw.  However, there were some aspects of the art experience that created a bit of a challenge for me.  One of those challenges was the no-erasing policy.  Because of my artistic shortcomings, I rely heavily on erasing and recreating lines.  However, with this no-erasing policy, I felt like I had to concentrate a lot more and spend more time on each drawing (not that it really made a difference).  This accelerated my other problem: not having enough time to draw.  I wanted to take my time to do each drawing and see if I could make it look somewhat like what I was looking at.  I did not want to rush my drawings and make them look like random chicken scratches (which they probably look like anyway).  But besides these two challenges, I was able to create each drawing that was required and I had a good time doing it, with a lot of laughs along the way.  Overall, this was a really great and fun art experience with my classmates, but it was also personally very calming and relaxing.  After seeing and experiencing this little piece of paradise on campus, I just might start making more frequent trips to the Japanese Garden!

Leave a Reply

